Sunday, February 1, 2009

Corus Chess Tournament 2009 Winners

Thanks for using the blog to enjoy the Corus Chess Tournament. All the rounds and games are now on under the tournament section to review at your leisure. They can be found in the tournament section on the main page.

I enjoyed the Corus tournament very much. This year's competition was much more enjoyable that previous memory, and although the people I was pulling for did not end up winning it was a close tournament right up until the last moves.

Here are the final standings:

Corus A

1. S. Karjakin 8
2. L. Aronian, T. Radjabov, S. Movsesian
5. M. Carlsen, L. Dominguez 7
7. G. Kamsky
8. L. van Wely, J. Smeets, Y. Wang 6
11. D. Stellwagen, V. Ivanchuk, M. Adams, A. Morozevich

Corus B

1. F. Caruana
2. N. Short, A. Motylev, R. Kasimdzhanov 8
5. A. Volokitin, F. Vallejo Pons
7. Z. Efimenko 7
8. D. Navara
9. Y. Hou, D. Reinderman 6
11. E. l'Ami
12. H. Mecking
13. K. Sasikiran, J. Werle 4

Corus C

1. W. So 9½
2. T. Hillarp Persson, A. Giri
4. D. HowellA. Gupta 7½
6. F. Holzke
7. D. Harika 6
8. F. Nijboer, E. Iturrizaga, A. Bitalzadeh, M. Bosboom, R. Pruijssers
13. M. Leon Hoyos 5
14. O. Romanishin

No comments: